Most Impactful Imam

This category awards Imams that have demonstrated a positive impact in the Mosque and wider community through their work, relating to changes in behaviour, community perceptions, contributions to community activities or programmes that are changing peoples lives as well as interfaith programmes and regular visits to schools, hospitals and prisons.

Judges will assess evidence and testimonials to demonstrate impact.

2023 Winner – Imam Ghulam Moyhuddin

2023 Finalists

  • Imam Ghulam Moyhuddin

  • Shaykh Muhammad Afzal Saeedi

  • Shaykh Kawsar Ahmad Al-Azhari

Note: Beacon Mosque Award winners are decided by an independent panel of judges who review the submitted evidence from shortlisted Finalists in detail, with the public vote providing a smaller weighting.

Previous winners:

2022: Imam Ebrahim Esakjee
Bilal Academy, Walsall

2021: Shaykh Nuru Mohammad
Al-Abbas Islamic Centre, Birmingham

2020: Imam Ijaz Shaami
Netherton Islamic Trust, Dudley (Link)

2019: Imam Mohammed Hammad
Iqra Learning Centre, Coventry

2018: Shaykh Fazle Abbas Datoo
Wessex Jamaat, Fareham